He Doesn’t Smile

I’ve been gone for a few months, but I’m back! I watched a documentary last week about the Syrian refugee crisis and it made me reflect on some of the news coverage I’ve seen about war and conflict around the world and I decided to write a piece about a refugee who’s expression almost moved me to tears.

Last night I was thinking about a Syrian refugee

 

He doesn’t smile,

He doesn’t smile because his smile looks like a grimace,

Because there’s nothing to smile about,

Because smiles and laughter don’t feed hungry mouths,

He carries his babe at the border,

Those around her don’t smile,

Because their eyes have seen horror face to face,

Horror doesn’t smile,

She is cruel,

And playful,

And indiscriminate,

She takes adults and children,

And loved ones,

And enemies,

She grabs parts of all,

Smiling beings,

And leaves behind man, women, child

All different,

All changed,

All unsmiling.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

